Community Involvement

CSUR’s Employees and Volunteers actively promote Social Responsibility in all forms. All of our member companies practice and encourage sustainable development. By definition, the Society believes in responsible stewardship of our communities (including the cultural, education and charitable segments), lifestyle and environment.

Sproule Award Header

At past CSUR's Fall Conferences, the Sproule Innovation and Achievement Award is presented to an industry representative who has made significant contributions and accomplishments towards advancing the development of unconventional resources in Canada. 

Past winners include:

2015 - Steve Carr, Deputy Minister, BC Ministry of Natural Gas Development

2014 - Dr. Brad Hayes, Petrel Robertsen

2013 - Robert Spitzer, Apache Canada

2012 - Dan Themig, Packers Plus

2011 - Dr. Brian Zaitlin, Kainai Energy

2010 - no award given

2009 - Kin Chow, Unconventional Gas Resources Canada

2008 - Mike Graham, Encana Corp.

2007 - John Anderson, Trident Exploration

2006 - Michael Gatens, Quicksilver Resources

2005 - Barry Ryan, BC Ministry of Energy & Mines

2004 - George Vonieff, MGV Energy

2003 - Mark Bustin, UBC Professor/RMB Earth Science Consultants